h1

Darling, I am Here For You

June 29, 2009

In our darkest times, we often turn to our friends to help us get through the challenges life throws at us. I know this has been true for me over the last few years and particularly true over the last several months.

If you have been reading my blog, you know I have engaged in many struggles during the last year. I got married in October to the love of my life without my sisters attending or participating in that joyous, and for me, momentous event. I became deeply depressed due to chronic burn out and work related stress. I decided to leave my job; a job I have given all of my self to, heart and soul, for over nine years. Each of these events posed incredible challenges to me, challenges which I am not sure I could have overcome without the love, support and understanding of some incredible friends.

By friends I do not mean acquaintances, or people you simply know through membership in similar groups or organizations. I mean people who know who I am, deeply and personally, who have heard the pain of my soul and stood by me when it was difficult to do so. For most of us, such true friends are few and far between. I can count mine on one hand.

Thich Nhat Hahn (a Buddhist monk) has a saying: “The greatest gift you can give someone is to say ‘Darling, I am here for you.’” When someone you call friend puts this saying into action and is truly there for you, it is indeed an incredible gift, one with which I have been blessed time and time again.

I owe a deep debt of gratitude to the friends who have listened, held my confidences, cared, supported and loved me more than I feel entitled. Your words of caring and comfort created the beacon that led me through the dark tunnel I found myself in for the last few months. You gave me hope and encouraged me to find my path. And you became my champions, believing in me and lifting me up when I felt I could not go on. I am truly blessed to have you in my life and I so look forward to our continued friendship.

The only way to repay you for all you have given me is to remind you that; “Darling, I am here for you.” I will answer your call when you reach out and will be there for you as you have been for me.

2 comments

  1. Beautifully expressed. I’ve never heard that quote, but I love it. Thanks for sharing. I so glad you have had the support and love of friends. You are blessed. lots of love to you.


  2. Joanne-

    You are such a beautiful person. These are wonderful sentiments. And keep your eye on those hummingbirds!

    Much love,
    Jo-Hanna



Leave a Reply

